Our services at Santa Maria Hospice continue even after you or your loved one has transitioned on. We provide 13 months of bereavement services for our families, understanding that the grief process can be difficult and even confusing at times. We invite you to call us at any time to request resources or to meet with a bereavement counselor.

What Is Grief?

A gradual healing process, discovering a new life, spiritual growth.

What to Expect When Grieving?

  • What is Normal?
  • Why Doesn’t Anyone Seem to understand Me?
  • When Should I Seek Outside Care for my Grief?

Stages of grieving: Denial, Anger, Bargaining, Depression, Acceptance (explain the five normal stages from kubler-ross and then go into different variations of grief expressions. Provide details about grieving in a family, allowing each member to feel safe in their expression)

Self-Care Tip of the Month: Find those two minutes in every day to take a few deep breaths and check in with yourself. Always give yourself acceptance. Wherever you are, is where you need to be.

We encourage you to explore some of the links and other resources we have provided below to bring you comfort, education, and to connect you to a wider grief community.

Highly recommended Books on Grief:

  • On Grief and Grieving: Finding the Meaning of Grief Through the Five Stages of Loss; Elizabeth Kubler-Ross
  • On Life After Death; Elizabeth Kubler-Ross
  • Life After Loss: A Practical Guide to Renewing Your Life After Experiencing Major Loss; Bob Diets
  • The Shack: Where Tragedy Confronts Eternity; William P. Young
  • The Year of Magical Thinking; Joan Didion
  • The Courage to Grieve:Creative Living, Recovery, and Growth Through Grief; Judy Tatelbaum
  • Living With Loss: Meditation for Grieving Widows; Ellen Sue Stern
  • The Orphaned Adult: Understanding and Coping with Grief and Change After the Death of Our Parents; Alexander Levy
  • When Your Soul Aches: Hope and Help for Women Who Have Lost Their Husbands; Lois MowdayRabey